View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
sahu77
Joined: 08 Sep 2011 Posts: 202
|
lcd with 16f676 |
Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:20 am |
|
|
i was testing lcd code with 16f676. its not work. lcd show only black blocks.
Code: |
/*
16F676 Configuration
O = Output, I = Input
_________
Vdd | 1 14 | Vss
(O) L1 <-- RA5 | 2 13 | AN0 <-- I\P Volt_Sense (I)
(O) L2 <-- RA4 | 3 12 | AN1 <-- O\P Volt_Sense (I)
(I) SW1 --> MCLR | 4 11 | RN2 <-- O\P Volt_Sense (I)
(O) RS <-- RC5 | 5 10 | RC0 --> DB4 (O)
(O) E <-- RC4 | 6 9 | RC1 --> DB5 (O)
(O) DB7 <-- RC3 | 7 8 | RC2 --> DB6 (O)
---------
*/
#include <input_output.h>
#include <lcd.c>
/*****************************************************************************
ADC Defines
****************************************************************************/
#bit ADFM = 0x1F.7 // A/D Result Formed Select bit
// 0=Left Justified, 1=Right Justified
#define ADC_AVERAGE_COUNT 100 // # of times to average ADC_Value
#define ADC_DELAY 1 // Change to "1" for 1 ms for real card
#define ADC_2TAD 1 // Wait 1 ms for 2TAD to complete before doing another AD conversion.
unsigned int16 ch_0, ch_1, ch_2;
/*****************************************************************************
Function prototypes
****************************************************************************/
int ProcessMains(void);
int16 getchreading(int channel);
void Process_display(void);
/*****************************************************************************
Main Program
****************************************************************************/
void main()
{
disable_interrupts(GLOBAL);
//ADC Init
setup_adc_ports(sAN0 | sAN1 | sAN2); // Setup AN0 and AN1 for analog
setup_adc(ADC_CLOCK_DIV_8);
ADFM = 1; //AD Result Right Justified
setup_comparator(NC_NC);
// enable_interrupts(INT_TIMER1);
enable_interrupts(GLOBAL);
while (TRUE)
{
lcd_init(); // Always call this first.
printf ( LCD_PutChar, "welcome\n" );
printf ( LCD_PutChar, "holoo word" );
// Delay to make sure a minimum of 2 TADs have gone by before we do another measurement.
delay_ms(1000); //1=5
} // Loop Forever
} // End Main
|
lcd file as
Code: | // flex_lcd.c
// These pins are for the Microchip PicDem2-Plus board,
// which is what I used to test the driver. Change these
// pins to fit your own board.
#define LCD_DB4 PIN_C0
#define LCD_DB5 PIN_C1
#define LCD_DB6 PIN_C2
#define LCD_DB7 PIN_C3
#define LCD_E PIN_C4
#define LCD_RS PIN_C5
//#define LCD_RW PIN_C5
// If you only want a 6-pin interface to your LCD, then
// connect the R/W pin on the LCD to ground, and comment
// out the following line.
//#define USE_LCD_RW 1
//========================================
#define lcd_type 2 // 0=5x7, 1=5x10, 2=2 lines
#define lcd_line_two 0x40 // LCD RAM address for the 2nd line
int8 const LCD_INIT_STRING[4] =
{
0x20 | (lcd_type << 2), // Func set: 4-bit, 2 lines, 5x8 dots
0xc, // Display on
1, // Clear display
6 // Increment cursor
};
//-------------------------------------
void lcd_send_nibble(int8 nibble)
{
// Note: !! converts an integer expression
// to a boolean (1 or 0).
output_bit(LCD_DB4, !!(nibble & 1));
output_bit(LCD_DB5, !!(nibble & 2));
output_bit(LCD_DB6, !!(nibble & 4));
output_bit(LCD_DB7, !!(nibble & 8));
delay_cycles(1);
output_high(LCD_E);
delay_us(2);
output_low(LCD_E);
}
//-----------------------------------
// This sub-routine is only called by lcd_read_byte().
// It's not a stand-alone routine. For example, the
// R/W signal is set high by lcd_read_byte() before
// this routine is called.
#ifdef USE_LCD_RW
int8 lcd_read_nibble(void)
{
int8 retval;
// Create bit variables so that we can easily set
// individual bits in the retval variable.
#bit retval_0 = retval.0
#bit retval_1 = retval.1
#bit retval_2 = retval.2
#bit retval_3 = retval.3
retval = 0;
output_high(LCD_E);
delay_cycles(1);
retval_0 = input(LCD_DB4);
retval_1 = input(LCD_DB5);
retval_2 = input(LCD_DB6);
retval_3 = input(LCD_DB7);
output_low(LCD_E);
return(retval);
}
#endif
//---------------------------------------
// Read a byte from the LCD and return it.
#ifdef USE_LCD_RW
int8 lcd_read_byte(void)
{
int8 low;
int8 high;
output_high(LCD_RW);
delay_cycles(1);
high = lcd_read_nibble();
low = lcd_read_nibble();
return( (high<<4) | low);
}
#endif
//----------------------------------------
// Send a byte to the LCD.
void lcd_send_byte(int8 address, int8 n)
{
output_low(LCD_RS);
#ifdef USE_LCD_RW
while(bit_test(lcd_read_byte(),7)) ;
#else
delay_us(60);
#endif
if(address)
output_high(LCD_RS);
else
output_low(LCD_RS);
delay_cycles(1);
#ifdef USE_LCD_RW
output_low(LCD_RW);
delay_cycles(1);
#endif
output_low(LCD_E);
lcd_send_nibble(n >> 4);
lcd_send_nibble(n & 0xf);
}
//----------------------------
void lcd_init(void)
{
int8 i;
output_low(LCD_RS);
#ifdef USE_LCD_RW
output_low(LCD_RW);
#endif
output_low(LCD_E);
delay_ms(15);
for(i=0 ;i < 3; i++)
{
lcd_send_nibble(0x03);
delay_ms(5);
}
lcd_send_nibble(0x02);
for(i=0; i < sizeof(LCD_INIT_STRING); i++)
{
lcd_send_byte(0, LCD_INIT_STRING[i]);
// If the R/W signal is not used, then
// the busy bit can't be polled. One of
// the init commands takes longer than
// the hard-coded delay of 60 us, so in
// that case, lets just do a 5 ms delay
// after all four of them.
#ifndef USE_LCD_RW
delay_ms(5);
#endif
}
}
//----------------------------
void lcd_gotoxy(int8 x, int8 y)
{
int8 address;
if(y != 1)
address = lcd_line_two;
else
address=0;
address += x-1;
lcd_send_byte(0, 0x80 | address);
}
//-----------------------------
void LCD_PutChar(char c)
{
switch(c)
{
case '\f':
lcd_send_byte(0,1);
delay_ms(2);
break;
case '\n':
lcd_gotoxy(1,2);
break;
case '\b':
lcd_send_byte(0,0x10);
break;
default:
lcd_send_byte(1,c);
break;
}
}
//------------------------------
#ifdef USE_LCD_RW
char lcd_getc(int8 x, int8 y)
{
char value;
lcd_gotoxy(x,y);
// Wait until busy flag is low.
while(bit_test(lcd_read_byte(),7));
output_high(LCD_RS);
value = lcd_read_byte();
output_low(lcd_RS);
return(value);
}
#endif
|
include input_output.h file as
Code: | #include <16F676.h>
#device adc=10
#FUSES NOWDT //No Watch Dog Timer
#FUSES INTRC_IO //Internal Oscillator @ 4 Mhz
#FUSES NOBROWNOUT //No brownout reset
#FUSES NOMCLR //No brownout reset
#FUSES PROTECT //Code protected from reads
#use delay(clock=4000000) // 4 Mhz Clock
#rom 0x3FF = {0x3480}
#use fixed_IO(A_outputs =PIN_A4,PIN_A5)
#use fixed_IO(C_outputs = PIN_C0,PIN_C1,PIN_C2,PIN_C3,PIN_C4,PIN_C5)
|
_________________ sahu |
|
|
dyeatman
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 1934 Location: Norman, OK
|
|
Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:39 am |
|
|
Move LCD_init() before the While loop.
Place it right after enable_interrupts(global)
Then add a 500ms delay right after LCD_init()
It takes time for the display to initialize. _________________ Google and Forum Search are some of your best tools!!!! |
|
|
Ttelmah
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 19537
|
|
Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 9:19 am |
|
|
You don't show the fuses etc., to set the chip up. Also the clock statement. What are they?. Or are they missing?. If the latter, then 'of course' it won't work.
Also you show MCLR going to a switch. What pulls it up to 5v, when the switch is not operated?. Unless this is done, the chip won't run.
As a comment you don't need to fiddle with ADFM. The compiler will justify the output for you, if you specify in the device statement: ADC=8 (8 bit right justified) ADC=10 (10 bit right justified) ADC=16 (10 bit left justified).
At the moment you are not using the ADC though....
Code: |
#FUSES INTRC_IO,MCLR,BROWNOUT,NOPROTECT,NOCPD
#use delay(INTERNAL=4MHz)
#device ADC=10
|
Basic setup for internal 4MHz operation, with MCLR operating, and ADC giving 10bits, right justified. |
|
|
dyeatman
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 1934 Location: Norman, OK
|
|
Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 10:13 am |
|
|
It seems he put the setup code at the bottom of his post in his input/output code _________________ Google and Forum Search are some of your best tools!!!! |
|
|
sahu77
Joined: 08 Sep 2011 Posts: 202
|
|
Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 12:33 pm |
|
|
dyeatman wrote: | Move LCD_init() before the While loop.
Place it right after enable_interrupts(global)
Then add a 500ms delay right after LCD_init()
It takes time for the display to initialize. |
sir tell me as
Code: | void main()
{
disable_interrupts(GLOBAL);
//ADC Init
setup_adc_ports(sAN0 | sAN1 | sAN2); // Setup AN0 and AN1 for analog
setup_adc(ADC_CLOCK_DIV_8);
ADFM = 1; //AD Result Right Justified
setup_comparator(NC_NC);
// enable_interrupts(INT_TIMER1);
enable_interrupts(GLOBAL);
lcd_init(); // Always call this first.
delay_ms(500);
while (TRUE)
{ printf ( LCD_PutChar, "welcome\n" );
printf ( LCD_PutChar, "holoo word" );
// Delay to make sure a minimum of 2 TADs have gone by before we do another measurement.
delay_ms(1000); //1=5
} // Loop Forever
} // End Main
|
but same problem _________________ sahu |
|
|
temtronic
Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 9241 Location: Greensville,Ontario
|
|
Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 12:41 pm |
|
|
You enable all the interrupts but without any ISRs that i can see..
that WILL cause huge problems...
jay |
|
|
sahu77
Joined: 08 Sep 2011 Posts: 202
|
|
Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 12:57 pm |
|
|
temtronic wrote: | You enable all the interrupts but without any ISRs that i can see..
that WILL cause huge problems...
jay |
u tell here no need
enable_interrupts(GLOBAL);
.i comment out this .
nothing , help this . problem is same
by way i clear u i used 162A lcd _________________ sahu |
|
|
dyeatman
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 1934 Location: Norman, OK
|
|
Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 1:50 pm |
|
|
You placed the lcd_init() in the proper place and say you
removed the enable_interrupts(), that is good.
If it still doesn't work you likely have a wiring or LCD problem.
However, you are not even sure the processor is running.
So, these are the next steps:
1. Try to blink an LED connected to a pin to confirm the PIC is running
2. Post a link to the datasheet for your LCD
3. Tell us how the LCD pins are connected. Especially the VEE pin. _________________ Google and Forum Search are some of your best tools!!!! |
|
|
sahu77
Joined: 08 Sep 2011 Posts: 202
|
|
Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 2:10 pm |
|
|
dyeatman wrote: | You placed the lcd_init() in the proper place and say you
removed the enable_interrupts(), that is good.
If it still doesn't work you likely have a wiring or LCD problem.
However, you are not even sure the processor is running.
So, these are the next steps:
1. Try to blink an LED connected to a pin to confirm the PIC is running
2. Post a link to the datasheet for your LCD
3. Tell us how the LCD pins are connected. Especially the VEE pin. |
i check my wiring & LCD 2-3 times .also replace it that time
1. Code: | for(i=0;i<15;i++)
{
__delay_ms(200);
output_high(PIN_A5);
} |
THIS IS OK ?
2.http://www.itron.com.cn/PDF_file/JHD162A%20SERIES.pdf
3.the VEE pin , i connect with 10k pot(preset). its work very well. wen i move it lcd contrast change fine . _________________ sahu |
|
|
dyeatman
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 1934 Location: Norman, OK
|
|
Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 2:33 pm |
|
|
Add one line below your delay in the main loop as shown below.
Code: |
printf ( LCD_PutChar, "welcome\n" );
printf ( LCD_PutChar, "holoo word" );
// Delay to make sure a minimum of 2 TADs have gone by before we do another measurement.
delay_ms(1000); //1=5
output_toggle(PIN_A5); <=======
|
_________________ Google and Forum Search are some of your best tools!!!! |
|
|
dyeatman
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 1934 Location: Norman, OK
|
|
Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 2:39 pm |
|
|
BTW, you say the contrast varies just fine but you also say you get nothing
but "black blocks". Does the line of "black blocks" fade out as you adjust the
contrast?
Question: Is this in Proteus or in actual hardware? _________________ Google and Forum Search are some of your best tools!!!!
Last edited by dyeatman on Thu Nov 27, 2014 3:01 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
|
sahu77
Joined: 08 Sep 2011 Posts: 202
|
|
Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 2:43 pm |
|
|
dyeatman wrote: | BTW, you say the contrast varies just fine but you also say you get nothing
but "black blocks". Does |
black [] contrast varies.not lcd display as i put my code
dyeatman wrote: |
Question: Is this in Proteus or in actual hardware? |
actual hardware _________________ sahu |
|
|
dyeatman
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 1934 Location: Norman, OK
|
|
Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 3:03 pm |
|
|
OK, if the led blinks about once per second when the program runs
then you are back to a hardware problem. _________________ Google and Forum Search are some of your best tools!!!! |
|
|
sahu77
Joined: 08 Sep 2011 Posts: 202
|
|
Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 3:08 pm |
|
|
dyeatman wrote: | OK, if the led blinks about once per second when the program runs
then you are back to a hardware problem. |
ok i test it . then reply here _________________ sahu |
|
|
sahu77
Joined: 08 Sep 2011 Posts: 202
|
now ok its working |
Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 3:35 pm |
|
|
dyeatman wrote: | OK, if the led blinks about once per second when the program runs
then you are back to a hardware problem. |
meany meany thanks sir g
now ok
its working _________________ sahu |
|
|
|