View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
nuno12345
Joined: 16 Jul 2008 Posts: 50
|
manual programming |
Posted: Fri May 01, 2009 1:41 pm |
|
|
Hello, I'm trying to understand how all of those programmers out there (WinPic, icprog etc) communicate with PIC...
My goal is just to read device id from PIC, I've winpic800 and I can read which pic I'm using by reading the value 0x0768 (16f88).
I assume this sends something to the PIC which "responds" this value...
Does anyone has an idea how I can do this? using hyperterminal for example?
I assume this does not need any kind of drivers, just the right value to be sent at hyperterminal....
Thanks |
|
|
PCM programmer
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 21708
|
|
Posted: Fri May 01, 2009 1:48 pm |
|
|
The 16F88 Programming Specification explains how to put the PIC into
program mode, and how to send commands and data to the PIC
through 2 special pins to program it. It's not done through the serial
port pins. This document explains it all:
http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/DeviceDoc/39607b.pdf |
|
|
nuno12345
Joined: 16 Jul 2008 Posts: 50
|
|
Posted: Fri May 01, 2009 4:53 pm |
|
|
i was looking for that all over the place..
thank you
are there any practical examples of that? just some simple things on how to start?
Can you tell me if we can use hyperterminal just to see "how it works"? |
|
|
nuno12345
Joined: 16 Jul 2008 Posts: 50
|
|
Posted: Sat May 02, 2009 4:47 am |
|
|
Ok we cant simply do it with hyperterminal since we need clocks and so....still i cant find a simple working source code example :/ |
|
|
PCM programmer
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 21708
|
|
|
nuno12345
Joined: 16 Jul 2008 Posts: 50
|
|
Posted: Sat May 02, 2009 9:30 am |
|
|
once again thanks, the code is huge :P but ill have a look at it...
Also do you think I can use 12V from PC power supply to achieve programming mode?
Also is there any possibility to get those 13V with 5V? maybe using a MAX232? :P |
|
|
ckielstra
Joined: 18 Mar 2004 Posts: 3680 Location: The Netherlands
|
|
Posted: Sat May 02, 2009 2:37 pm |
|
|
Just curious, but are you going to develop your own programmer?
Many good and cheap programmers already exist, so why would you want to spend your time on this? |
|
|
nuno12345
Joined: 16 Jul 2008 Posts: 50
|
|
Posted: Sat May 02, 2009 3:46 pm |
|
|
nah i have a programmer
I've a project on my mind I would like to develop. :P Also I always like to know how things work down to the 0 and 1, for example I would like to do an usb interface with a pic without using ftdi's....but thats another subject.... |
|
|
|