View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
halibatsuiba
Joined: 12 Aug 2009 Posts: 30
|
|
Posted: Sun Aug 08, 2010 4:25 pm |
|
|
PCM programmer wrote: | Quote: | void main()
{
int16 temp;
.
.
.
printf(lcd_putc,"TEMP: %x ", temp);
|
I noticed another problem in your program. You're trying to display
an 'int16' with "%x". That's not correct. You must use "%lx". That's
a lower-case L in front of the x. |
Argh! Trivial mistake.
Mode 0 does not work.
I just replaced the 6675 to rule out chip issues.
Now when I managed to kill my scope, I think I will take this circuit with me to work tomorrow and check if there is any data in clock and data lines.
Before my scope died, I managed to verify that CS is working as expected. |
|
|
halibatsuiba
Joined: 12 Aug 2009 Posts: 30
|
|
Posted: Tue Aug 10, 2010 9:26 pm |
|
|
Checked with scope: CS and clock lines are ok but there is nothing going on in data line.
No shorts in circuit either.
I find it hard to believe both chips I have would be dead.
Oh well, perhaps I should order couple more from Sparkfun. |
|
|
pmuldoon
Joined: 26 Sep 2003 Posts: 218 Location: Northern Indiana
|
|
Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 12:01 pm |
|
|
If the chip is setup using stdio, then the output_low(MAX_DO); statement will drive the pic pin low into the output line of the MAX chip. Could that have killed your data line? |
|
|
halibatsuiba
Joined: 12 Aug 2009 Posts: 30
|
|
Posted: Sat Aug 14, 2010 4:35 pm |
|
|
Howdy again.
I just got new MAX6675 from Sparkfun.com.
Replaced old one in breadboard and whadda'y'know... now it works.
Then I did put the old one back and it works too!
Code is still the same.
Spooky...
I don't think it was loose connection or some kind of short because I rebuilt the circuit three times before replacing the 6675 and it did not have any effect.
Thank you all for your advice. |
|
|
bkamen
Joined: 07 Jan 2004 Posts: 1615 Location: Central Illinois, USA
|
|
Posted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 11:56 am |
|
|
halibatsuiba wrote: | Howdy again.
I just got new MAX6675 from Sparkfun.com.
Replaced old one in breadboard and whadda'y'know... now it works.
Then I did put the old one back and it works too!
Code is still the same.
Spooky...
I don't think it was loose connection or some kind of short because I rebuilt the circuit three times before replacing the 6675 and it did not have any effect.
Thank you all for your advice. |
Sounds like a possible soldering problem.
Always make sure to use enough flux and a small enough tip to keep the joints clean and oxide free.
-Ben _________________ Dazed and confused? I don't think so. Just "plain lost" will do. :D |
|
|
|