CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to CCS Technical Support

PIC18F45K50 is not ready for debugging
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
stoyanoff



Joined: 20 Jul 2011
Posts: 375

View user's profile Send private message

PIC18F45K50 is not ready for debugging
PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 5:04 am     Reply with quote

Greetings! I'm using PIC18F45K50, MPlab v8.91, CCS v 5.024.
These are my fuses:
Code:

#include <18F45K50.h>
#Fuses HSM,NOPLLEN,NOWDT,DEBUG
#use delay(CLOCK=12M,restart_wdt)


#use rs232(baud=9600, xmit=PIN_C6, rcv=PIN_C7, bits=8, errors, PARITY=N)

I'm trying to debug my program, but always I'm receiving "target device is not ready for debugging. Check configuration bits".
Can you tell me what to do?!
Thanks!
temtronic



Joined: 01 Jul 2010
Posts: 9246
Location: Greensville,Ontario

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 6:28 am     Reply with quote

comments..
1) there's more than 4 fuses in that PIC, so one of the 20+ others could be the culprit.

2) pretty sure you cannot have the WDT enabled when in debug, I never use debug but see that comment here every so often.

3) MPLAB has it's own ideas about 'debug' mode vs. 'release'. My MPLAB defaults to 'release' mode as I don't debug using 'debug'.


Jay
asmboy



Joined: 20 Nov 2007
Posts: 2128
Location: albany ny

View user's profile Send private message AIM Address

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 9:02 am     Reply with quote

what does your CIRCUIT look like?
pullups or pulldowns on debug pin?

is everything a-ok in that department ?
stoyanoff



Joined: 20 Jul 2011
Posts: 375

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 9:34 am     Reply with quote

DEBUG pin?! I'm using standard ICSP connections. There are no resistors on PGD and PGC!
Do I have to do anything special for this controller?!
I'm using it for a very first time. I have experience with PIC18F25K50 - the series. I had no problems with it!
Thanks!
asmboy



Joined: 20 Nov 2007
Posts: 2128
Location: albany ny

View user's profile Send private message AIM Address

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 10:06 am     Reply with quote

ICPRT = 1 ??

PIN_B6 / B7 TRIS ok?

not knowing what package --
ICCK I/O ST Dedicated In-Circuit Debugger clock. ok?
ICDT I/O ST Dedicated In-Circuit Debugger data. ok?

and

CONFIG4L DEBUG XINST ICPRT — — LVP — STRVEN 392
set ok? in .LST tail ??
stoyanoff



Joined: 20 Jul 2011
Posts: 375

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 11:14 am     Reply with quote

PIC18F45K50-I/PT
I have connected only the ICSP pins.
ICCK and ICDT and ICRTS are not connected
Do you mean there are different pins for debug then program?!
Thanks!
asmboy



Joined: 20 Nov 2007
Posts: 2128
Location: albany ny

View user's profile Send private message AIM Address

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 12:47 pm     Reply with quote

Quote:

different pins for debug then program?!


you never said what package you use -BUT
one of us read the data sheet

let me draw your attention to the
44-PIN TQFP package Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy
stoyanoff



Joined: 20 Jul 2011
Posts: 375

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:49 pm     Reply with quote

I'm sorry! 44-PIN TQFP!
asmboy



Joined: 20 Nov 2007
Posts: 2128
Location: albany ny

View user's profile Send private message AIM Address

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 2:35 pm     Reply with quote

and using pins 12,13,18,33 right ??

its different SHARED pins on the 40 pin dip
stoyanoff



Joined: 20 Jul 2011
Posts: 375

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 11:50 pm     Reply with quote

I've fixed it! It seems I had to check "compile for use with ICD Debugger"!
Thanks!
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19552

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2016 3:00 am     Reply with quote

This implies you have changed this setting sometime in the past.....

When using MPLAB, it always overrides the settings for DEBUG 'for you'.
By default MPLAB always sets the processor to debug mode (which is why there are regular threads here with people having problems not being able to program a chip for normal use).
At some point in the past, you have set it to compile for 'release'....
asmboy



Joined: 20 Nov 2007
Posts: 2128
Location: albany ny

View user's profile Send private message AIM Address

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2016 10:36 am     Reply with quote

As someone whose practice has more than the average of time critical routines - i have NEVER found any potential benefit from using MPLAB and the Debugger.

Seems more trouble than any possible benefit.

IMHO there are better ways to figure out some malf'ing code,
and i've long used a combo of scope attachment to an un-comitted I/O pin , and odd bits of situational based extra serial output data.

My personal opinion is that the best debugger is between your ears and
that when debug is needed - it better to improvise based on the situation at hand.
The PIC does not run in a vacuum.

I'd love to hear from anybody who makes regular good use of MATLAB/DEBUG and especially the WHY of working with it.
temtronic



Joined: 01 Jul 2010
Posts: 9246
Location: Greensville,Ontario

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2016 10:42 am     Reply with quote

hmm...
Quote:
I'd love to hear from anybody who makes regular good use of MATLAB/DEBUG and especially the WHY of working with it.

I'm assuming MATLAB is a typo ?

I've never used the Debugger, prefer to see what happens in the 'real world', same goes for 'simulators' as many know.
I do use MPLAB as a 'portal' to blast PICs though after being compiled on CCS PCM. The Microchip SW Tech thought it was an 'odd' way to do things but since PCM V2.534 it's what I do..and it works for me.

Jay
RF_Developer



Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 839

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2016 10:59 am     Reply with quote

I do a lot of debugging... but I never use MPLAB and never use simulators. I find it clanky and clumsy and a poor environment to work with CCS C. I always use the CCS IDE and the integrated debugger. On the other hand, MPLAB and ICD3 is one of our historically preferred production programming environments (we now use the CCS Load-N-Go far more often, using the ICD3 for legacy code and for one-off specials).

I also use debug pins a lot, trying to keep one or two at the corners of PICs just for that purpose. The systems I tend to work on are usually just that, systems, with multiple PICs working together and intercommunicating. The amplifier I have running beside me has 12 PICs in all, all bar one connected via a system-wide CAN bus, which also goes via a CAN adapter box to the PC where I have a C# GUI that we use for system monitoring and diagnostics. In such systems, I will live debug one PIC at a time, hoping and praying that the others all behave for me. Some systems require debugging on two or more targets simultaneously, and that creates some real headaches. :-(( But I do it all from the CCS IDE.
newguy



Joined: 24 Jun 2004
Posts: 1909

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2016 1:08 pm     Reply with quote

As I mentioned a while ago, all my projects have two debug LEDs, and that's how I debug pretty much everything. I create industrial systems that lack any kind of human interface at all and communicate with other boards/systems via serial or CAN busses. Rarely I'll "sniff" the serial communications or CAN bus, but usually only when I'm at the limit of what the 2 LEDs can tell me. Given the nature of the systems I'm working on, it's not possible to run a traditional debug kind of environment because I need what I'm debugging to be up & continuously running in order to determine what it's doing or not doing.

The only times I've had difficulty debugging is when the fault wasn't with a single project, but instead lay in the interaction between two projects. The worst one (one that took the longest to find) was with two boards that communicate via CAN on their own dedicated CAN bus (no other devices on the bus). Eventually the CAN link between them would go down - neither one could successfully transmit. Took me forever to realize it was because the two would attempt to take control of the CAN bus at almost precisely the same moment while attempting to transmit the same message. They'd eventually each decide that they'd lost arbitration, give up (as they're supposed to do), then retry (again, as they're supposed to do, but they were resting the same amount of time), only to again realize "someone else is speaking" and again give up. Ad infinitum. Once I realized the true cause, I was able to easily fix it. ....But that one took a while.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group