View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
yarenler
Joined: 05 Jan 2019 Posts: 8
|
serial-monitor_ |
Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2019 4:56 am |
|
|
The distances between the characters appear on the screen are very wide, so it is difficult to read 8 different values on the screen at the same time.
How to reduce the distance between characters.? _________________ esen_seher_yeller |
|
|
temtronic
Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 9245 Location: Greensville,Ontario
|
|
Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2019 6:28 am |
|
|
You'll have to post your PIC program that is sending the data to the PC terminal program. It sounds like a simple formatting problem (too many embedded spaces or mybe displaying 8 bit data as 32 bit data).
Jay |
|
|
yarenler
Joined: 05 Jan 2019 Posts: 8
|
serial-monitor |
Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2019 10:52 am |
|
|
I provided the communication between the CCS program and the microcontroller with rs-232. How can I reduce the distance between characters when reading data on a ccs serial monitor?
as screenshot https://ibb.co/B6dBkqb _________________ esen_seher_yeller |
|
|
temtronic
Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 9245 Location: Greensville,Ontario
|
|
Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2019 12:41 pm |
|
|
As I said, we need to see your PIC program and which PC terminal program are you using ? It looks like you're not sending a CR/LF after the data or the terminal prorgam if filtering them. I suspect that the terminal program is not configured correctly. |
|
|
Ttelmah
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 19545
|
|
Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 7:58 am |
|
|
Looking at the picture, he is using SIOW.
This will only show what _you_ send it. If you send characters
next to one another they will display next to one another. If you send extra
spaces these will be shown. It looks as if your printout is adding extra
characters. As Temtronic has said, you need to post the code you are using
to print.
It will show extra characters if you are sending characters from the PC as
well, since you have it set to both display the send and the receive at the
same time. |
|
|
yarenler
Joined: 05 Jan 2019 Posts: 8
|
serial-monitor |
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:00 am |
|
|
I see only the analog inputs on the serial-monitor. I'm not sending any information from the PC. I don't understand why there's a gap between the characters. Unfortunately I don't know about SIOW.
Code: |
while(TRUE)
{
set_adc_channel(20); isi=read_adc()*(5.0/1024.0)*100; printf("\n S-0=%u", isi); delay_ms(way);
//21
//22
//23
//.....
set_adc_channel(27); isi=read_adc()*(5.0/1024.0)*100; printf(" S-1=%u\r", isi); delay_ms(way);
|
_________________ esen_seher_yeller |
|
|
dluu13
Joined: 28 Sep 2018 Posts: 395 Location: Toronto, ON
|
|
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:33 am |
|
|
Seems like your columns are being written very wide. Are you sure some font setting not messed up? It's also strange that all the characters are written but \n is not.
I didn't have issues with siow.exe but have you tried another terminal program? |
|
|
temtronic
Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 9245 Location: Greensville,Ontario
|
|
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:37 am |
|
|
Another guy has same problem, I suggested Realterm and it works fine ! I suspect it's a 'setup' of 'default' problem with SIOW, though I've never used it.
I also wondered about what the variable 'isi' was ? %u is for an unsigned 8 bit value. |
|
|
dluu13
Joined: 28 Sep 2018 Posts: 395 Location: Toronto, ON
|
realterm |
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:42 am |
|
|
I use Realterm myself, and it works well. Besides that, if you have long output, it scrolls off the page and there's no scroll bar. You can get it back by dragging with the mouse, but subsequent output overwrites stuff and it's kind of messy. |
|
|
temtronic
Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 9245 Location: Greensville,Ontario
|
|
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:55 am |
|
|
The solution is to 'save to file' as well as display on screen. I had 4 months of data saved to a file for a datalogger project. 8 sensors, every 15 seconds. By sending it in CSV format, Excel automatically opened the file and correctly displayed the data.
Jay |
|
|
dluu13
Joined: 28 Sep 2018 Posts: 395 Location: Toronto, ON
|
|
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 9:03 am |
|
|
Ah, that's the Capture function. Thanks for that tip, it looks handy. |
|
|
Ttelmah
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 19545
|
|
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 10:09 am |
|
|
I think he needs to turn off the 'ASCII send' button.
Currently it'll show a space for each output character, as well as the
input characters. Result double spacing.... |
|
|
dluu13
Joined: 28 Sep 2018 Posts: 395 Location: Toronto, ON
|
|
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 10:11 am |
|
|
But he says he's not sending stuff from the PC. The terminal is only listening. |
|
|
Ttelmah
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 19545
|
|
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 12:09 pm |
|
|
In his picture the ASCII send button is also selected.
If you have this selected, the program outputs one character from the
receive, followed by one from the transmit (even if one isn't avalable).
Result double spacing.... |
|
|
yarenler
Joined: 05 Jan 2019 Posts: 8
|
serial-monitor |
Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 2:45 am |
|
|
Temtronic, I found out that my problem is due to the history of the siow.exe file. The file date 2013. The current version of the siow.exe file has returned to normal when it loads. _________________ esen_seher_yeller |
|
|
|